Stories from the cold hell of Canada.

No offense meant to the folks that live in Canada of course. The Long Dark takes place in the frozen Canadian wilderness after an apocalyptic event that left the world in disarray.

The sandbox alpha of The Long Dark is where the bulk of the playable game is at the moment. I’ve previously written my impressions of it, which is favorable to say the least. A neat feature that the developer Hinterland Studio has included is the inclusion of a journal for players to write in. I’ve always toyed with the idea of starting a compendium of my various (failed) playthroughs, but never actually carried it out.

Well I’m done waiting. I’ve already killed one person, and am working on the inevitable death of a second. I will start posting my journal entries here on Falcon Reviews as I complete new ones, separated by each survivor and the day it was written on.

I hope that my enthusiasm for this is contagious. It’s actually fun writing the journal entries.

Stay tuned…

 

Did you like this post? You should click “Like” if you did. Feel free to follow Falcon Reviews as well. You can also find me on Twitter and even send me a direct email to FalconReviewsBlog@gmail.com!

Posted by Shelby "Falcon509" Steiner

I'm just a gamer that enjoys talking about my hobbies. I do a little more than that too. I love cooking, grilling, being outdoors, going target shooting, etc.

3 Comments

  1. No offense taken, eh 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. Christopher Lampton December 30, 2016 at 11:08

    I didn’t quite know what to make of The Long Dark when I first tried playing it earlier this year. It was cold, I kept dying, I gave up. When I came back to it recently I found I loved it. Was the sandbox mode a new addition? I still get cold and die, but I’m coming to love the challenge of finding out just how long I can hang on until it happens. And it’s a great environment to explore.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    1. Hinterland Studio has been keeping on top of updating the systems to include a ton of new features and tweaks. They added in a clothing menu for instance that helps you track how bundled up you are.

      It’s shaping up to be a really good game. Frankly, I think it’s underpriced at $20.

      They’re also going to be adding a story mode with the full-launch as well.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.